Date: August 5, 2020

Disrupt the Status Quo: How SEL Can Address Implicit Bias and Build Equity in Classrooms and Communities

Registration

Date: August 17, 2020

Time: 12:30pm – 1:30pm PDT; 2:30pm -3:30pm CDT; 3:30pm – 4:30pm EDT

For decades, our juvenile justice system has been shaped by implicit bias and the disproportionality of discipline toward youth of color and those with disabilities. Things have got to change—and you can help.

Schools and communities can address these imbalances by integrating social-emotional learning and restorative practices. By doing so, they may be able to minimize the effects of implicit bias and help reform juvenile justice.

This free webinar will feature experts in the fields of SEL and juvenile justice. Join us Monday, August 17, 2020 to hear from Angela Downes, JD, Assistant Director of Experiential Education at UNT Dallas College of Law, and Donna Black, President of SEL4TX, and instructor at the Academy for SEL in Schools. Hosted by Jennifer Sanderlin, Senior Education Partnerships Manager from Committee for Children, the makers of Second Step, an evidence-based SEL program for Grades K-8.